My Novels

The Soldiers of Fortune Series


1357 –  Ancelin Montfort returns to England as his father’s unwilling heir. Everything he does from now on has only one purpose: to prepare him to be the Earl of Somerton. This includes marrying the woman his father has chosen for him.

Emma loves Ancelin, but the man who has returned from war is not the same man who left. As the day of their wedding draws near, she wonders if she ever knew him at all. Then he accuses her of betraying him with another man. Can she convince him of her innocence? Does she want to?

The Heir’s Tale is the first in a series of medieval romances. If you like vivid historical detail and fast-paced compelling drama, you’ll love April Munday’s The Heir’s Tale.

Available here.


England 1357 – Mark Montfort is determined to prove to his older brothers that he is capable of looking after himself, whatever it takes.

Tilda Merys is about to be married to a much older man, who intends to be a wealthy widower.

When Mark agrees to help her run away, they set off on a journey more dangerous than they could have imagined. Will Mark’s inexperience cost Tilda her life?

The Monk’s Tale is available here.


Gascony, 1356 – Stephen Montfort doesn’t know what he wants, but he knows what he doesn’t want. He’s made a vow not to return to England and the woman who broke him.

Stephen’s captain, Roger de Calais, has hidden herself as a soldier for years and she has loved him almost as long as she’s known him. It’s a love she can never express, for, if she reveals herself, she will be killed.

When Stephen falls in love with the man he believes her to be, will she continue with her lie or will she risk everything to be loved for herself?

Available here.



Aymer Montfort has been a mercenary for ten years, but it’s time for him to return home and make his peace with the brother who accused him of murder. The last thing he wants is to take a beggarwoman with him to England.

Melissant de la Chapelle set out on a pilgrimage with her father. After his murder, she’s alone and penniless. She has been begging in Calais for a month when Aymer rescues her.

Neither of them wants to become entangled with the other, but someone can’t afford to let Melissant live. Will Aymer abandon her to her fate?

The Mercenary’s Tale is available  here.

Medieval Stories:

Beloved Besieged


A knight in shining armour. A maiden in distress.  An army between them.

Limoges 1364 – After Elaine is rescued from a rioting mob by Joscelin, a handsome English pilgrim, neither expects to see the other again. Out of sight proves not to be out of mind, however, nor out of heart. Their unspoken love for one another continues to grow over the years they’re apart. When their paths cross again, Joscelin is a knight in the army laying siege to Elaine’s home. He has to get to her before anyone can harm her… or worse.


Beloved Besieged is available here.

The Traitor’s Daughter


It is October 1338 and England has been at war with France for a year. Lady Alais de Montjoye is travelling to her wedding where she is to be married to a man she has not seen in four years. Her journey takes her to Southampton on the morning it is attacked by the French. Rescued from certain death by Sir Hugh de Liss, Lady Alais finds that doing her duty by her betrothed husband might not be as easy as she thought.
Sir Hugh knows that Lady Alais is the daughter of a man who fought against the king he now serves, but cannot deny the attraction between them. As they begin their journey north, neither of them can imagine where the conflict between duty and desire will take them.

The Traitor’s Daughter is available here.

The Winter Love

The Winter Love

England, October 1357
Days before she is due to take her vows, Eleanor de Wrey is kidnapped from her convent by Henry Attewood, a soldier returning home from France. He declares himself her rescuer, but she is not so sure. They join the ship of Henry’s brother, a wine merchant, Edward. Both brothers are attracted to the young nun, but all Eleanor wants is to get back to her convent. None of them knows what it will cost them before she can return.

The Winter Love is available here.

His Ransom

His Ransom

Richard de Charimaux arrives in England as a prisoner after the battle of Poitiers. He is not able to pay his ransom and his family is unwilling, so he must serve the man to whom the ransom is owed. Homeless, kingless, crippled and speaking little English, Richard must find his place in a hostile household which believes he is the enemy and has no value. He soon decides that he belongs by the side of his captor’s daughter.

Rosamunde has been left in charge of the castle by her father who has yet to return from France. She views the Frenchman as an unnecessary burden, since it will cost more to keep him than he will ever be able to pay off. Then she finds out why her father sent him to her and her view of him changes.
For Richard, Rosamunde is the distant, virtuous woman he has always hoped to meet, but he has nothing to offer her. For Rosamunde, Richard represents the French who killed her fiancé.
His Ransom is available here.

Regency Spies:

The Heart That Lies


She wants revenge. He wants to catch a murderer. Will their lies keep them apart?

In the summer of 1811 the Earl of Meldon is trying to unmask the murderer of a fellow spy. He is diverted from this task by the arrival of a young woman in his house. The last thing Meldon wants is another distraction from fighting the French, let alone a distraction who’s clever enough to work out what he’s doing.Lady Anna is homeless and penniless. London is a dangerous place for a woman on her own, but Anna will go to any lengths to kill the man responsible for her brother’s death.Neither of them knows the dangers they’ll face if they can’t tell one another the truth.

The Heart That Lies is available here.

The Heart That Hides


In the spring of 1812 Regency spy Edmund Finch returns to London after a failed mission on the Continent. Physical and mental exhaustion keep him away from society for some time, but when he returns to it he is introduced to a beautiful woman who steals his heart. Is she, however, a fit woman to be the mother of his young son? And what of Sophia, a young woman whose intelligence delights him, but who has attracted the attention of his closest friend’s nephew. Finch’s friends fear that he is not in a condition to make the right choice. Finch can only follow his heart, when he understands it.

The Heart That Hides is available here.

The Heart That Wins


In early 1815 it seems that the war with Bonaparte is over, but Sophia Arbuthnot is not so sure. When she learns that the exiled Emperor is about to reclaim his throne, she flees to Paris where she meets the man whose proposal of marriage she rejected two years before.
Captain John Warren has fought his way from Spain to Paris in an effort to put Sophia behind him, but now he has to face up to the choices he made as a boy. Before things can be resolved between them, they both have to face up to the choices that they made and confront the French spy who is working against them. Can first love have a second chance?

The Heart That Wins is available here.