Category Archives: The Books

Release Day – The Mercenary’s Tale


The fourth book in the Soldiers of Fortune series is published today. Aymer Montfort became a mercenary after the Battle of Poitiers. Ten years later he decides to return home and make his peace with his brothers. On the way he rescues a beggar and agrees to escort her to Oxford.

Melissant de la Chapelle’s father was attacked and killed in Calais, leaving her penniless and without protection. She is grateful for Aymer’s kindness, but saddened by the distance he keeps between them.  As they reveal their secrets to one another they discover that they are not prepared for what awaits them in England.

It can be purchased here.




Filed under The Books

The Knight’s Tale


Today the third book in The Soldiers of Fortune series is released.

Stephen is the third surviving Montfort brother. Wounded in the Battle of Poitiers, he decides to remain in Gascony with his friend and captain, Roger de Calais. When the Black Prince sends them on a mission, Stephen discovers that he feels more for his captain than friendship. Roger of Calais is not what she appears to be, however, and admitting their love for one another could lead to death for both of them.

Their story can be purchased here.

The cover is the work of the wonderful Cathy Helms from Avalon Graphics.


Filed under The Books

The Monk’s Tale


Today the second book in The Soldiers of Fortune series is published. The Monk’s Tale is about the youngest Montfort brother. Mark is reunited with his brothers on the eve of the Battle of Poitiers, having run away from the monastery where he was supposed to make his vows as a monk. In Bordeaux he learns to enjoy things which were denied him before. Readers of The Heir’s Tale will already know that Mark runs away again almost as soon as he sets foot back in England. You can find out why and what happens to him in his own story.

The cover is the work of the wonder Cathy Helms from Avalon Graphics.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Books

New Release


Today is the anniversary of the battle of Poitiers, which took place in 1356. Edward of Woodstock, the Black Prince, led an English and Gascon army against a larger French force and won.

This is the event which proves to be the turning point in the lives of the four brothers in my new historical romance series The Soldiers of Fortune, and this seemed to be an appropriate day to announce that the first book in the series, The Heir’s Tale, is available for pre-order and will be released on 29th September, closely followed by the other three books in the series.

Four brothers – one battle that changes everything

When Ancelin Montfort returns to England with the body of his brother after the battle of Poitiers, his only thought is to see the woman he has loved since he was a boy. Unfortunately, she is his brother’s widow and he is already betrothed. The knowledge that he is now his father’s heir weighs heavily on Ancelin, and his intended wife is part of that burden.

Emma was betrothed to Ancelin shortly before he went to France. There has been no communication between them for almost two years and the man who has returned from war is not the cheerful man who left her.

Days before their wedding is due to take place, Ancelin comes to believe that Emma has betrayed him. He has a choice. Should he believe and marry the woman he loves or the woman his father has chosen as his wife?

The cover is the work of the amazing Cathy Helms from Avalon Graphics.


Filed under The Books

Now out – The Heart That Wins


The third part of the Regency Spies trilogy is now available. The Heart That Wins takes place around the Battle of Waterloo.

In early 1815 it seems that the war with Bonaparte is over, but Sophia Arbuthnot is not so sure. When she learns that the exiled Emperor is about to reclaim his throne, she flees to Paris where she meets the man whose proposal of marriage she rejected two years before.

Captain John Warren has fought his way from Spain to Paris in an effort to put Sophia behind him, but now he has to face up to the choices he made as a boy. Before things can be resolved between them, they both have to face up to the choices that they made and confront the French spy who is working against them. Can first love have a second chance?


Filed under Regency, The Books

When Love Means Daring To Reveal Who You Really Are


The second book in the Regency Spies trilogy is now available. As you can see it has another wonderful cover by the talented Cathy Helms of Avalon Graphics. If you didn’t already know that I write historical romance, Cathy’s design would tell you immediately.

The trilogy takes place between the summer of 1811 and the summer of 1815, with the final book concluding a few days after the Battle of Waterloo. The first book, The Heart That Lies, dealt with the earl of Meldon, a spy during the Napoleonic Wars, who is distracted from hunting down the killer of a colleague by the arrival into his house of a young woman who refuses to tell him her name. The second book is about the earl’s friend, the widower Edmund Finch.

This is the description on Amazon:

In the spring of 1812 Regency spy Edmund Finch returns to London after a failed mission on the Continent. Physical and mental exhaustion keep him away for society for some time, but when he returns to it he is introduced to a beautiful woman who steals his heart. Is she, however, a fit woman to be the mother of his young son? And what of Sophia, a young woman whose intelligence delights him, but who has attracted the attention of his closest friend’s nephew. Finch’s friends fear that he is not in a condition to make the right choice; Finch can only follow his heart, when he understands it.

It’s not necessary to have read The Heart That Lies to read and enjoy The Heart That Hides.

The trilogy will be completed by The Heart That Wins which I hope to have ready for the editor by the beginning of next year.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Books