Christmas at Aston Eyre

Acton Eyre church

This lovely view was what presented itself to me while I was sitting in my pew on Christmas morning. It was my first time inside this twelfth century church in rural Shropshire, but I don’t think it will be my last. I thought I’d share it with you in lieu of a normal post, given the busyness of the season.

Technically the church is a chapel of ease, which means it was built for parishioners who live a long way from the parish church. In this case it was for the wealthy family living in the village in 1132. It’s about a mile to the parish church in Morville.

It’s a tiny church, with the pews wide enough to take only three (if large) or four (if small) people, but it’s easy enough to imagine it without the pews and with its medieval congregation standing around.

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Church

4 responses to “Christmas at Aston Eyre

  1. What a lovely place to spend Christmas morning.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Charlotte Latvala

    Beautiful and peaceful. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

